Postgrad Schools – PhD

January 22, 2013 § 1 Comment

I have been doing a lot of research lately and contacting some o/s graduate research schools at art colleges,mainly in Britain. So far I really like Goldsmiths and Slade. Slade particularly as Tacita Dean is a grad and lectures there and I am so connected to her work.

In Australia the choices are also good and I was reading the ARC’s recent Excellence in Research for Australia National Report – they list the University of Sydney (Sydney College of the Arts) and University of NSW (College of Fine Arts) at the top for visual arts and art theory and criticism. I have attended both of those universities (USyd for undergrad, UNSW for MFA) and I am not sure who I would want to be my supervisor looking at current faculty, nor which is the best in terms of associated research (though with my interest in cultural geography maybe USyd).

I know also if I do enrol with an Australian university there is very good opportunity to do a year overseas with a British institution due to strong commonwealth ties and partnerships between some of the more prestigious universities in the UK and Scotland. Australia also seems to have more generous funds to attend conferences, forums and masterclasses, and the APA and other ARC funding opportunities can be significant.

Anyway I am gathering information on scholarships in particular for o/s study. I have also been collating some ideas for a proposal, and while I initially thought 2014 was the year it could also be 2015 depending, as I want to do some further travel. I will be 33/34 at that time – but it seems acceptable.

Do you have any recommendations – experiences – ideas -websites I should look at?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Postgrad Schools – PhD

  • kimwinderman says:

    This is so exciting. i am excited for you. if you find anything of interest for over seas study (scholarships) i’d love to know —

    aaaaa

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Postgrad Schools – PhD at rushofsun.

meta