Works in progress

January 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

1. I spent time on one beach, transporting the stones from the shoreline to another beach area on the island, and then transporting sand from there to the first. People have such an investment in ‘taking things in’ and having an understanding or measure of a place, but now when people stand there at these places there will be a small part of it that has come from an unknown. An unknown unknown. I want to do this in Iceland too, where there is a beach of black sand.

2. I read blog posts of people who had visited the Island where they describe what what they did and where they went, and I went out to try and recreate their journey. An uninvited pilgrimage to the steps of unknown people.

3. I found feathers and made a nest, a sort of hyper-realistic one so that if someone stumbled on it, it might seem too perfect, too put together.

4. I walked some labyrinths and pulled a string behind me and at the end I buried a secret. But to get to the secret you have to find the string on your own accord and follow it, the same path. Maybe there is something there that will touch your head and so you have to bow to avoid it.

5. I have made a dictionary of ice/Arctic water forms from a variety of books I have read, and I am painting them, what I think they look like, as a sort of index of imagined forms. Maybe they will somehow resemble what they are if the term is exact enough, or makes me recall images seen briefly in my visual life. If I show them to other people as a representation, they might believe it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Works in progress at rushofsun.

meta